Endorsements Souldier Fender Celestion Fender Custom Shop D'Addario D'Addario

The Campy Forum

Be polite and respectful. Don't sell stuff. No envy, no fear, no meanness.
late year silverface Princeton Reverb (push pull volume boost)
  • does anyone here have any experience with the later-1970s silverface Princeton Reverb amps? they have the "push-pull volume boost" but no master volume. I am mainly questioning how it compares to early silverface PRs- (not blackface PRs or SF PRs that have been blackfaced...).

and just overall, is it a good amp on its own, separate from comparison to other PRs...

would a major speaker upgrade be a game changer for one of these, if the push-pull circutry is not highly sought after? can the circut be converted to pre push-pull?

thanks for any info!
  • The general view is that "Don't pull it, and it makes no difference". So basically they do sound sound like PR. :) I am no expert, and have no direct experience!

I would like an amp that has a solid wood fingerjointed cab. The post ~1971 cabs are not.
  • I had a 1976 or 77 Princeton Reverb for awhile and it was a nice amp. Other than power tubes, it was all original. Around the same time, I picked up a 1973 that was missing a speaker and had been messed with somewhat. I eventually put a Ragin Cajun in the 73 along with a larger output transformer and found that I much preferred the sound. Some of our songs are in drop-D and even drop-C tuning and I found my modded 73 to work better with more headroom and tighter bass. I sold the 76-77 since I had no need of two pretty similar amps. The 76-77 was in much better cosmetic shape and all original so I sold that one.