Endorsements Souldier Fender Celestion Fender Custom Shop D'Addario D'Addario

The Campy Forum

Be polite and respectful. Don't sell stuff. No envy, no fear, no meanness.
New to forum
  • I've been playing a guitar for over twenty years (though you'd never know it) and I've been playing my number 1 Telecaster 18 years. My favorite guitar is a black 1998 MIM Telecaster that I found at (gasp!) Musician's Friend. I went in to finally purchase a real guitar and wanted to get a Stratocaster but they were out of the MIM versions. I put the money down to put one on hold and wandered over to the guitar wall and pulled off my Telecaster. I played an E chord and I knew it was the guitar for me. It has played in a variety of bands (from punk, to grunge, to blues) and always been exactly what I need. I recently put in a set of Don Mare "Green Onion" pickups and it has truly become the best guitar I've ever played.

I only recently got turned on to Jim through Roy Buchanan and searches on Youtube and for the past few years I have really enjoyed listening to him (though I wish I found him sooner). Jim plays the Telecaster as original as I've ever heard it and I love the unexplainable mix of blues, rock, punk, and jazz he has created. No one else has really done it for me as much as he does. I finally started the lessons (another thing I wish I had done sooner) and have been working through Playing the Blues. My chops are pretty good as I've only played blues type licks for the past few years but I never connected with any books, lessons, teachers, or videos like I have with these.