Endorsements Souldier Fender Celestion Fender Custom Shop D'Addario D'Addario

The Campy Forum

Be polite and respectful. Don't sell stuff. No envy, no fear, no meanness.
Just for fun: amp recommendations?
  • I'm interested in getting a tube amp (using a Mustang now) and, naturally enough for someone on this forum, I'm mostly considering some sort of Princeton. Let me give you a little context and then ask for the recommendation. I play at home for the most part, but occasionally will jam with friends. I'm mostly an acoustic player (I've been playing for 45+ years), but I've been playing more electric over the last few years. I've got an American Special Tele, a Strat knock-off (with Lollars), and a recent Ibanez AS153 semi-hollow body. Stylistically I (try to) play a range of stuff: some of Jim's material and styles that he's associated with (would that I were young again and maybe I could really learn some of this stuff), some straight ahead jazz, some blues, and some more distorted jazz-ish stuff (Frisell, Monder, etc). But, fundamentally I'm a complete novice when it comes to equipment, and especially amps. The array of choices is somewhat bewildering. I think that what I'd like is an amp that has warm clean (Fender-ish?) tones at low volumes and breaks up a bit at slightly higher volumes. From reading and listening on the web, this leads me to lean toward the '68 Custom Reverb. But there's also the '65 reissue, and I have the opportunity to get a 1970 Princeton (no reverb), but that's over twice as expensive as the other two. So, if anyone wants to weigh in with any observations, opinions, or recommendations, I'd be most grateful. -Paul
  • One other question: if I buy it online, any recommendations as to where to buy it from?